Massasoit Community College Thirty-Seventh Annual Honors Convocation



June 2, 2004 7:00 p.m.

Buckley Performing Arts Center Brockton, Massachusetts With great joy, the Massasoit community dedicates this evening to those who have demonstrated excellence in leadership and academic achievement Introductions...... Maureen Thayer Dean, Student Services

.

Scholarships

ALPHA KAPPA UPSILON ALUMNI ASSOCIATION OF PHI THETA KAPPA SCHOLARSHIP

Recipients

Lueny Gonzalez

Wai-Yan Lai

ALTRUSA INTERNATIONAL CLUB OF PLYMOUTH COUNTY SCHOLARSHIP

Presenters......Susan Porazzo

Past President, Altrusa Club Sandra Jarvinin President, Altrusa Club

Recipients

Susan Hann

Roberta Voisine

BAY STATE GAS FIRE SCIENCE SCHOLARSHIP

Dean, Public Service & Social Science

Recipients

Scott Collins Mary Duggan Michael Lessard

David Melanson Keith Thomas

FAYE BERZON SCHOLARSHIP

Presenter.....Barbara Waible Professor, Nursing Program

Recipients

Nelli Gold

Ronald Greenfield

BRIDGEWATER STATE COLLEGE MERIT TRANSFER SCHOLARSHIP

Presenter.....Juanita Brunelle

Professor, Modern Languages

Recipient

Holly Janes

BROCKTON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL WOMEN'S SCHOLARSHIP

Recipient

Helen Figueroa

ANN ESTEY MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Presenter......Ed Estey

Committee Member

Recipient

Roberta Messina

Faculty Association Scholarships

Presenter.....James Tressel President, Massasoit Faculty Association

DEBBIE PINCOLINI BARONI MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Recipient

Joseph Papp

HOWARD J. SCHWENDLER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Recipient

Lorraine Devine

FACULTY SCHOLAR AWARDS

President, Academic Senate

Recipients

Elizabeth Cassidy Stephen Donovan

Stephanie Henderson Heather Molloy Mark Lowell

Alberta Silva

DARLEEN FERZOCO MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Presenter.....Judie St. Cyr Professor, Mathematics

Recipient

Marie Mondesir

TED KOUKOTOS MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Recipient

Wai-Yan Lai

BETTY LESSER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Committee Member

Recipient

Kim Mendell

MASSASOIT COMMUNITY COLLEGE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION SCHOLARSHIP

President, Alumni Association

Recipients

Lueny Gonzalez Julie Guarino Wai-Yan Lai

Stephanie Maziarz Matthew Sylvester

NEW ENGLAND TRANSFER ASSOCIATION MERIT SCHOLARSHIP

Recipient

Elizabeth Cassidy

PRESIDENTIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Recipients

Denise Drever

Sandra Pina

Rebecca West

ANTHONY SPINAZZOLA FOUNDATION CULINARY SCHOLARSHIP

Recipients

Justine Beattie Angela Brown Julie Glynn

Elizabeth Johnson Matthew Maglio

UNIVERSITY OF MASSACHUSETTS/BOSTON CHANCELLOR'S SCHOLARSHIP FOR EXCELLENCE

Recipient

Veronica Murphy

UNIVERSITY OF MASSACHUSETTS/BOSTON FOSTER FURCOLO SCHOLARSHIP

Recipient

Vera Dunn

UNIVERSITY OF MASSACHUSETTS/DARTMOUTH CHANCELLOR'S TRANSFER MERIT SCHOLARSHIP

Presenter......Lois Martin Professor, Mathematics

Recipients

Lueny Gonzalez

Steven Manning

JACK KENT COOKE FOUNDATION UNDERGRADUATE TRANSFER SCHOLARSHIP

Presenter......Barbara Finkelstein

Vice President, Faculty and Instruction

Recipient

Elizabeth Cassidy

UNIVERSITY SCHOLARS PROGRAM SCHOLARSHIP

Presenter......Dr. Charles Wall

President, Massasoit Community College

Recipients

Daniel Higgs

Mark Lowell

Awards

Visual Arts Awards

VISUAL ARTS FACULTY AWARD

Recipient

Christopher Jackson

THE ART EXPERIENCE COMMERCIAL SCREEN SUPPLY AWARD

Recipient

Carlos Almeida

ARTIST UNION AWARD

Presenter.....Liangshu Han

Professor, Visual Arts

Recipient

Nelson Correia

Buckley Performing Arts Center Awards

JOHN CHASE MEMORIAL THEATRE SCHOLARSHIP

Presenter.....

Professor, Speech Communication & Theatre

Recipients

Nicole Calitri

Nathan Fogg

Meghan Toland

Caffrey

FRED FOY RADIO STUDENT OF THE YEAR AWARD

Recipient

Kevin Tocci

KIM GOMES TELEVISION STUDENT OF THE YEAR

Recipient

Sue Sorsby

ALAN CHAPMAN AWARD

Recipient

Mike Knox

BERNIE FEITLEBERG AWARD

Recipient

Dustin Fleming

PEG LYNCH AWARD

Recipients

Christina Davey

Patricia Strait-McGrath

ROSEMARY RICE AWARD

Recipients

Tim McKenney

Sean Tierney

Alex Zaurov

HELEN B. BULMAN AWARD

Recipient

Karen Michalak

THE INSTRUMENTATION, SYSTEMS & AUTOMATION SOCIETY BOSTON SECTION AWARD

Presenters.....Jose Loureiro

President, ISA Boston Section Paul O'Hara Education Chairman, ISA Boston Section

Recipient

Douglas Kerr

INTERCOLLEGIATE LEADERSHIP AWARD

Presenter.....Joyce Zymaris Executive Officer for Institutional Diversity

Recipients

Johanne Barthold Elizabeth Bucha Christine Feluis Marina Pickett

LATCH RECOGNITION AWARD

Presenters......Deirdre Vandross

...Deirdre Vandross LATCH Counselor Gail Deehan Professor, English

Recipients

Julie Guarino Alison Labbate John Sheehan Lauren Swirbalus

MASSASOIT MATHEMATICS TEAM AWARD

Presenter..... Lois Martin Professor, Mathematics

Recipients

Jason Bowlby Christopher Canavan Elizabeth Cassidy

Wai-Yan Lai Mark Lowell Jessica Pawlowski Alexei Popov Keith Rossman

THERESA SMITH MEMORIAL AWARD

Recipient

Thomas Sheehan

TENTH ANNUAL UNDERGRADUATE CONFERENCE

Presenter.....

Professor & Co-Coordinator, Honors Program

Recipients

Elizabeth Cassidy Constance Cormier Tory Furtado Barry Gutting Laura Heckhausen Katelyn Johnston Denise Lipper Mark Lowell Erin MacGregor Marina Pickett Caroline St. Croix Barbara Southard Arthur Stadnick Nancy Venezia

GRADUATES OF MASSASOIT'S HONORS PROGRAM

Recipients

Lee Ann Beaulieu Christopher Bradley Alexander Cotter Kristi Glenn Joseph Hockney Mark Lowell

TECHNICAL ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE AWARDS

Presenter......Brian O'Leary Vice President, Canton Campus & College Operations

Recipients

Stephen Baker Jr. Isabel Barbas Linda Carp Christina Davis Charlene Faherty-Senesac

Douglas Kerr Heather Molloy Douglas Otico John Palmer Erik Player

Karen Michalak

Sandra Reid Christopher Reynolds Thomas Santiago Tracy Sowle An Vo

ED FAHEY MEMORIAL AWARD

Presenter..... Irving Weiner Professor, Architecture

Recipient

Linda Carp

ARCHITECTURAL FACULTY AWARD

Recipient

An Vo

ALL MASSACHUSETTS ACADEMIC TEAM

Presenter......Peter Johnston Dean, Humanities and Fine Arts

Recipients

Alexander Cotter

Marina Pickett

OUTSTANDING STUDENT SENATOR AWARD

Presenter.....Julie Mulvey Director, Student Life

Recipient

Rob King

GREEN KEY SOCIETY

Presenter......Dr. Carl Kowalski Vice President, Student Services & Enrollment Management

Recipients

Marilyn Anderson Tracy Boyle Justen Cantan Linda Carp Jennifer Fahey Helen Figueroa Mark Fortner

•

- Jennifer Frohn Loukisha Hyman Holly Janes Rob King Susan McBurnie Katelyn McKenna
- Rachel McManus Corrine Mahase Karen Michalak Evridiki Papaioannou Larane Rogers Cheryl Terio Carol Wilson

Congratulatory Remarks President Dr. Charles Wall

Closing Dean Maureen Thayer

Recessional

The audience is requested to remain seated for the Recessional. Following the ceremony, a reception for the recipients and their invited guests will be held in the Fine Arts Lobby. Our thanks to Wyman Nursery Rt. 58 Hanson, MA for their donation of plants and flowers

* * * * * *

Special thanks to Student Life Staff Television Studio Staff Facilities Department Staff